Vegetarian vs Vegan which is healthier
For people who do not follow a vegetarian or vegan diet, the difference between them may seem cloudy. Sure, neither diet includes meat, but what about brownies, yogurt, and pizza? And what about all the different variations of vegetarianism? Although following these diets requires care and a lot of research, understanding their differences is actually quite simple. Vegetarian vs Vegan which is healthier
Vegetarian Vs. Vegan
Main difference Vegetarian vs Vegan which is healthier
Vegetarians do not eat animal products, while vegetarians do not eat animals, but they can eat products that come from them (such as dairy and eggs). People often choose these diets for health reasons, religious restrictions, or moral concerns about harm to animals.
Although all vegetarians tend to follow the same clear set of guidelines – do not eat anything that comes from an animal – there are a few different types of vegetarian diets.
Lacto-ovo (or ovo-lacto), from the Latin words for milk and egg, is the most common type of vegetarian. As the name implies, people who follow this diet eat dairy products and eggs, but avoid meat, poultry, and seafood.
Lacto-vegetarians eat dairy products but not eggs, meat, poultry, or shellfish.
Ovo-vegetarians eat eggs but not dairy, meat, poultry, or seafood.
I fish vegetarians, or fishermen, do not technically meet the common definition of vegetarian. People who follow this semi-vegetarian diet eat fish and other shellfish but not meat or chicken.
Vegetarians who choose this diet for moral reasons tend to be passionate about animal welfare, which is why many avoid wearing leather and suede because they are made from animal skins. They can also avoid any fabric that is made from animal by-products, including wool and silk, because the animals that are used to produce these materials are often damaged in the process. Many vegans are also looking for cruelty-free cosmetics and beauty products
Foods Vegans Avoid Vegetarian vs Vegan which is healthier
Because many people don’t realize how many seemingly animal-free foods actually contain small amounts of animal products, becoming a vegan or vegetarian can bring many surprises. For example, nonfat yogurt and candy often include gelatin, which is made from animal parts, and some brands of orange juice are fortified with omega-3s from fish.
For vegans and vegetarians, it is important to ask how restaurant food is prepared before ordering. Many soups and sauces that do not appear to contain meat are made with chicken or beef broth, tortillas are sometimes made with lard, and fried foods can be made with animal fat.
Vegetarians also avoid honey, and they have to carefully read the ingredient labels of any new food. For example, some chocolates are vegetarian, but other types include milk.
These diets can be very healthy, but like anyone, vegans and vegetarians should be aware of nutritional deficiencies. For example, dairy products are an important source of calcium and vitamin D, so vegans and ovo-vegetarians should eat plenty of dark leafy vegetables (another good source of calcium) and choose foods that are fortified with calcium. If you go vegan, you should also consider vitamin D supplements
Vitamin B12 is necessary to prevent anemia, and since it is only found naturally in animal products, vegans in particular may consider vitamin supplements or foods fortified with this nutrient.
Luckily, vegans and vegetarians don’t suffer from a lack of nutritious and delicious foods. Vegetables, fruits, grains, nuts, and beans are suitable for both diets when prepared correctly. And vegans can choose from a wide variety of products made with plant-based dairy substitutes. Cooking and baking your favorite recipes is also entirely possible with a few simple ingredient changes.
Try making a veggie creme brulee, cheesy oatmeal with tomatoes and avocado, or spicy black bean burgers. They are the type of vegetarian food that even the most carnivorous people will devour!