Difference Between Country and Continent

We all have a more or less clear idea about the differences between country and continent, but it is likely that if some are asked to explain these differences to their minds, the only idea that “one is greater than the other” will come to mind. Difference Between Country and Continent

To have everything clearer and not to give way to possible confusion, below we explain what the difference is between continent and country.

CONTINENT  Difference Between Country and Continent

A continent is a long, continuous land mass. On this planet there are five continents: America, Asia, Europe, Oceania and Africa; although there are those who affirm that there are seven and not five, adding to the list Australia (as if it were not part of Oceania) and Antarctica (which is a continental mass). In addition, there are those who call Australia not only the country; but to the entire continent that is known as Oceania and they divide North America from South America, thus forming two continents instead of one.

The term “continent” derives from the Latin “continere” which means “to hold together.” In Geology the continents are described by means of the tectonic plates.

Containers are divided by bodies of water and are divided into various regions, which are referred to as countries and which are not equal in size.

People who live in countries that belong to the same continent probably have certain similarities, but this is not always the case. Even the language of the different countries of a continent can vary completely, as can the physical features and habits of the inhabitants.


On the other hand, a country can be defined in different ways. For example, as a State that is not occupied by another and that possesses independence or political division; but it can also be defined as a geographic region associated with a group of people with independent political characteristics or not.

Despite the many definitions, what most agree on is that a country is a geographical region that politically governs itself.

Each country belongs to a continent and is divided politically, geographically and culturally. Also, each has its own laws, constitution, institutions and traditions.

See More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Back to top button