Difference Between Island and Mainland

A map or any globe shows portions of land and different bodies of water around them. Although almost everyone knows that there are about six or seven continents (the number and other details vary depending on where the observer resides) and several islands; the truth is that many have no idea what makes them different. Difference Between Island and Mainland 

A list of elements must be taken into consideration to distinguish a continent from an island and without a doubt that in this case size counts, and a lot; Although it is not ultimately what makes the difference, since for example, Australia is considered an island and also a continent.

If you have doubts about what the difference is between a continent and an island or you are simply looking for a little more information to complement what you already know, then continue reading, because below we explain everything you need to know around this interesting topic.

ISLAND  Difference Between Island and Mainland 

An island is a piece of land surrounded by water and usually much smaller than a continent. Although this definition is correct, it is quite limited and does not mention other distinguishing factors. Small portions of land surrounded by water could also be islets, keys, among other things.

Most often, islands are found in groups, and these groups of geographically and geologically related islands make up what is known as an archipelago.

Islands can be formed in various ways and are classified depending on how they were formed. The different types of islands are: continental, volcanic, oceanic, tropical and desert. The continental ones are like Greenland and Long Island, islands separated from a continent and formed in most cases by land separations.

Some islands are even artificial creations of human beings. The Palms Islands in Dubai would be a good example of this. In the entire world there are approximately 18,995 known islands. Some are independent countries with their own government.


On the other hand, any of the great land masses on this planet is called a continent. They are not always divided in the same way, which is why some say there are seven, others six but these are the ones that are usually mentioned: America, Europe, Africa, Asia, Oceania and Antarctica (which is more of a uninhabited landmass).

The continents are defined as large, continuous and discrete land masses ideally separated by bodies of water; however, some of the most recognized continents are not discrete land masses nor are they separated by water.

Finally, before all the continents separated there was a single mass known as Pangea; But due to the movement of the tectonic plates, the continents are as we know them now. One of the details that most contributes to differentiate the island’s continents (in addition to size) is the fact that the former have very diverse cultures, fauna, flora and even climates . Furthermore, continents cannot be created artificially; the islands yes.

See More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Back to top button